My Cart

Merchandise Subtotal:
    View all

    Swiss Bernese Hound |Switzerland|

    Swiss Bernese Hound |Switzerland|

    By the nineteenth century, there were five varieties of the Swiss Hound, and in 1882 each got its own breed standard, although by 1909 one of the five, the Thurgovie, had disappeared. In 1933 a revised single standard was applied to the four remaining hounds, which are considered different types (based largely on color) of the same breed. These are the Bernese Hound, Lucerne Hound, Schwyz Hound, and Jura Hound. The Bernese is white with black patches and tan facial markings.

    Swiss Bernese Hound |Switzerland| Swiss Bernese Hound |Switzerland|
    From Dogs Unleashed, Copyright by Tamsin Pickeral, licensed through ContentOro, Inc and used by arrangement with Thunder Bay Press

    Save $5 on your next purchase

    Remove All